Cheers to Mommyhood

I am on the 14th day of Eevryday Writing and this time, the task is for us to recreate a single day. I chose to write the day that changed my life. There are many days in my life that are worth sharing but the greatest is the one when I welcomed motherhood.

At such a young age, I was given the responsibility and chance to mother a baby girl. From being a student to a mommy, it’s not easy-peasy. I was studying and I had to leave her to her grandma’s care. Sickness did not make it smooth for us. My little girl had pneumonia when she was just one-week old. We stayed in the hospital for 2 weeks. She suffered from asthma and diarrhea from time to time until she’s 2. Looking back, I can’t believe she’s 8 years old now. Smart, loving and suuuuuper kulit. There are times when I ask myself how I was able to raise a daughter. My little girl is like a teacher for I learned a lot while she’s growing up. She taught me how to become mature- whatever decision we do, we have to prioritize her. Husband and I are not bf-gf anymore and our actions will impact our daughter the most,hence, we need to think about every step thoroughly and always do whatever that benefits her.

Being her mother made me patient, especially when she started schooling. I had to extend my patience when she was learning how to write because she did not want to do it. She always cry during our writing session. Good thing her teacher was also patient while she’s on the learning stage of writing.  From time to time, I noticed improvement on her until asking her to write her name is not a stressful episode anymore.  My little girl inspired me to become a better person. She looks up to me and I am her first teacher so I should be careful with what I say and do. My child’s upbringing is a reflection of myself as a parent.

I am far from being a perfect mother. I know I have a lot of opportunities to work on. I am willing to learn more for my daughter’s (and son’s) future. They are  my motivation to improve myself and become a better person.

 “You don’t need to become a perfect mother. Just be a good one.”

img1467465328186

13 thoughts on “Cheers to Mommyhood

Leave a Reply

