In My Humble Opinion

Jason Bourne ( Feeling Critic 2)

Screenshot_2016-07-31-12-52-30-1

It’s been 10 years since Jason Bourne (Matt Damon) walked away from the agency that trained him to become a deadly weapon. Hoping to draw him out of the shadows, CIA director Robert Dewey  assigns hacker and counterinsurgency expert Heather Lee to find him.  Lee suspects that former operative Nicky Parsons is also looking for him. As she begins tracking the duo, Bourne finds himself back in action battling a sinister network that utilizes terror and technology to maintain unchecked power (from google.com)

I got hooked on Bourne series 3-4 years ago. I was amazed with the stunts and the plot. Maybe I have repeated all 3 movies (Identity, Supremacy and Ultimatum) more than ten times since I saw it so imagine my excitement when I learned about the 5th installment of the series to know what happened to Bourne after escaping death from the hands of people who want to put him down.

The film did not make a huge impact on me after watching it yesterday. The action scenes which show Bourne’s great combat skills are few and not as intensed as compared to the first 3 films. They used another “rally as cover-up” scene which reminded me of films #2 and 3. The plot did not elaborate what happened to the protagonist after he escaped and how he ended up doing streetfight. Maybe I expected MORE and could not help but remember the first 3 installments of the movie. I think the part about Deep Dream could be removed and instead be replaced with more scenes about the lead character’s past. Matt Damon is still no doubt the best person to play the lead with his convincing acting skills. Tommy Lee Jones and Vincent Cassel are new characters who are responsible in one of the events in Bourne’s past but the names are not enough to say more good things about the film. I think this quote best describes Jason Bourne in my POV – “expectation is the root of all heartaches.”

My rating out of 5 stars: 3

images (7)

Leave a Reply

