Tips and Tricks

Tips for New Hires (From This Once Scared Working Momma)

photo_20170111_073317

Hey! How’s the start of 2017 so far? It’s a bit sad for me because my baby boy has been sick for a couple of days now. I claim healing for him. Anyhoo, before the year ended, my manager gave me a special project and that is to handle a group of new hires. We call them OJTs. Memories of when I was just starting came back as I greeted the bunch on our first day. It was a bit nostalgic. Thought I would be in tears (kidding!)

Aside from discussing product specific scenarios, I also shared my newbie stories with the hope to inspire them. I completely understand their fears because I had the same feeling 7 years ago.

I am no expert when it comes to the science of being good at work and I speak from my own experiences. Here I listed down some tips (which I practically did) for newbies that you may find essential no matter what your field is.

1. Follow company rules

As for all new hires, the goal really is to get regularized after 6 months of being in probationary status. While your performance is the main identifier, it is also important how your supervisor perceives you. One of the best and easiest ways to manage their perception on you is to follow house rules. No late, no absence, proper dress code, being responsible in taking breaks etc.

Technically, everyone must follow company rules but in reality, some are doing the opposite. You need not to memorize the whole Code of Disciplinary Conduct though. Just DO WHAT’S RIGHT. This is a good attitude you can take with you wherever you go.

2. Ask Questions

You will be taught of what you need to know during training and it’s essential that you listen actively. If you do, ask questions. I mean you can’t swallow all information in just one round of discussion, right? Better to ask than pretend you know it and mess up in the end.

3. A FOR EFFORT- exert extra effort

Training is provided to all kinds of job but you can’t be a trainee forever. Exert an extra effort to learn new things that will make you efficient and effective. Spend a little bit more time to work on your areas for improvement. Talk to your supervisor/coach/mentor so he/she can give you an additional learning session or provide more job aids. Leaders appreciate it when someone shows willingness to improve.

4. Keep yourself motivated

I know the feeling of almost giving up once you experience the demands of your job. You’ll ask yourself if you made the right decision to apply because you think you can’t do it anymore.

“Para Kanino Ka Bumabangon?” (Who do you wake up for?) is a commercial slogan of a coffee company in the Philippines. I know it’s too cheesy but try to ask this yourself when you feel scared to face another day of challenge and you’ll be back on track. It makes you think of the reason why you were eager to have a job, why you shed sweat and blood from initial interview up to your first “life-changing” day at work. Whatever that reason may be, hold on to that. It will fuel you to achieve more and become better everyday.

If you’re a new hire, good luck! I know you can make it! Just keep going! For those who have been working for a while now (just like me) I just realized after writing that we can also apply these tips. It’s a refresher. After all, learning should never end. Let’s all have a prosperous New Year and may the odds in our job be ever in our favor *wink*

14 thoughts on “Tips for New Hires (From This Once Scared Working Momma)”

  1. Great advice for newbies and for any situation we put ourselves into.
    I am a retiree from AT&T so my outside the home job is complete.
    I am now pursuing my love for writing. I started at the bottom again but the rewards are instantly gratifying and I don’t have to worry about a probation period. The down side is I don’t bring home a paycheck every week but I do get S.S. and a pension monthly.
    There is much to learn and the hours can add up quickly but when you’re in the zone and the words are flowing I am a happy student, even at the age of 73.
    You are welcome to visit my work shop (blog) when ever you like, it is always available even if I am taking a break. hehe….
    Thank you for sharing. :o)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I would love to pursue my passion. They say that we should find a job that does not feel like one. There’s a lot that I want to do and I am happy that you can do the thing you love. Sure writing is not the same as being part of the corporate world but you can reach out to more people because of your words and it’s something I know you are so proud of. Thanks for the invite! I’ll send you a message and ask for advice πŸ™‚ More power to you!

      Like

    1. Hey, Bharath! He still got fever yesterday morning but it’s gone today. Praying for his complete healing. What keeps you busy these days? πŸ™‚ Yeah, it’s been a while. I’ll visit your site often πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

