Tips and Tricks

Nocturnal Mom’s How To: Burger Steak

IMG_20161120_153524-01

I consider burger as one of my favorite snacks. In fact, I like it more Β than pizza. Local cafes have started to invade Manila and most of them have burgers in their menu. But as we all know, “commercialized” burgers have preservatives which is not good for the health. With this reason, I searched for burger patty recipes so I can make my own at home. Since my husband and kids love Jollibee’s burger steak, I decided to create the perfect homemade burger steak for them. Move over, happy bee! :p

Here is my own version of burger steak, easy and does not hurt your pocket since some of the ingredients can be found in your home.

Patty:

1/4 ground pork ( you can use beef or chicken)
1 whole egg
5 tbsp all purpose flour
1 small white onion, finely chopped
1pc finely chopped carrots
salt
pepper
1 single pack cracker (crushed)

Instructions:

1. Mix all ingredients in a large bowl

2. Refrigerate for 2-3 hours

3. Use a spoon to scoop the meat then flatten it before frying

4. Fry then set aside

Gravy:

1/4 cup butter
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1 can sliced mushroom
water (it depends how thick you want your gravy to be)
beef broth cube
salt and pepper to taste

Instructions:

1. In medium heat, melt butter and whisk in apf until light brown in color

2. Add beef broth cube and water, continue stirring until it becomes thick

3. Add the mushroom

4. Sprinkle a pinch of salt and pepper

*tip: You may try to add a little bit of sugar. I liked it better when I did it πŸ™‚

Arrange the patties on a plate and pour gravy on top. Too bad I did not have a picture of that (it was gone too soon hehe) but I was able to take a picture of our baon.

IMG_20161120_153524

I set aside some cooked patties and made a burger sandwich for my little lady’s school baon. Did you notice the cute stars and fish? I used my shape and animal cutters to mold the cheese. This working Nocturnal Mom shared some burger steak to a friend in the office. According to her, you can taste the pureness of meat and the salty-sweet gravy compliments the patty. 10 points for me! My husband also uses the gravy recipe when he cooks crispy pata and fried chicken. Budget-friendly and yummy- this is one of my favorite homecooked meals. See you on my next How To post!

download-02

 

10 thoughts on “Nocturnal Mom’s How To: Burger Steak”

Leave a Reply

